Author Topic: No head lights  (Read 596 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TheGasGranny

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 25
  • Bike/Model: LEICESTERSHIRE
  • City / Town: Leicester
  • Country: gb
No head lights
on: 18 December, 2021, 07:21:37 PM
Hello All,

I've got a problem with the lights on my 2012 1050 Tiger.

The side lights work but the main light and high beam don't work at all.

The bike had a HID kit on when I bought it last week (which I've removed) but I suspect it may have cooked something.

I'm not a wiring expert, but can anyone suggest where / how / what to test. I've checked all the fuses, and they are fine. Could a relay be faulty?

Everything else works, (indicators, heated grips, brake light etc) just not the head lights.

Thanks in advance.

TGG.

#1

Online Hamilton

  • Tiger Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
  • Bike/Model: Tiger 1050 se
  • City / Town: BRISTOL
  • Country: gb
Re: No head lights
Reply #1 on: 18 December, 2021, 07:54:50 PM
*Originally Posted by TheGasGranny [+]
Hello All,

I've got a problem with the lights on my 2012 1050 Tiger.

The side lights work but the main light and high beam don't work at all.

The bike had a HID kit on when I bought it last week (which I've removed) but I suspect it may have cooked something.

I'm not a wiring expert, but can anyone suggest where / how / what to test. I've checked all the fuses, and they are fine. Could a relay be faulty?

Everything else works, (indicators, heated grips, brake light etc) just not the head lights.

Thanks in advance.

TGG.
Hi Gas granny , check across the terminals at the lamp end with a multi meter , should be 12volts ish, also find the live and check to metalwork , you might have a bad earth , also check for continuity across the lamps , when mine stopped working the lamp looked alright , but there was no continuity , also spray contact spray across the terminals and the lampholder , I am not a auto electrician but I am an installation electrician who specializes in testing , so I know how to fault find .

#2

Offline TheGasGranny

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 25
  • Bike/Model: LEICESTERSHIRE
  • City / Town: Leicester
  • Country: gb
Re: No head lights
Reply #2 on: 18 December, 2021, 08:00:39 PM
Excellent 👍

I've got a meter so I'll check tomorrow.

Cheers.

TGG.

#3

Offline gosling 1

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Tiger God
  • *
  • Posts: 2869
  • Bike/Model: '08 Orange Tiger
  • City / Town: Connecticut
  • Country: us
Re: No head lights
Reply #3 on: 18 December, 2021, 08:01:29 PM
On the 07-12 Tigers, the starter relay kills power to the headlights when the start button is pressed. Both the starter relay and headlights are powered from the same fuse so if you can start the bike, the headlight fuse is intact. This is how the stock wiring works, if there were some wiring mods done for the HID conversion, things may be different. Did you remove all the HID components when converting back to stock?

 The attached PDF's may help with troubleshooting.
Last Edit: 18 December, 2021, 08:15:15 PM by gosling 1
Larger than life and twice as ugly!

#4

Offline TheGasGranny

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 25
  • Bike/Model: LEICESTERSHIRE
  • City / Town: Leicester
  • Country: gb
Re: No head lights
Reply #4 on: 18 December, 2021, 08:11:53 PM
Cheers for the reply 👍

Yep, the bike starts and everything else works, except for the headlights.

I've removed the HID and put it back to stock.

I suspect the HID may have cooked something as it's wasn't very well installed. 😕

I think I'll just going to put better halogen bulbs in it for the moment as it's got a set of Denali's (that also don't work), but they are connected directly to the battery with a connection to the main light.

I don't really like messing with wires 😕

Cheers.

TGG.

#5

Offline Dusty ST

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Tiger Master
  • *
  • Posts: 647
  • Bike/Model: 2017 Tiger Sport 1050
  • City / Town: Brighton, Sussex
  • Country: gb
Re: No head lights
Reply #5 on: 19 December, 2021, 04:51:18 PM
I've got Denalis on my Tiger, I'm guessing they're not working because there's no volts going to the headlamps.
The Denalis are switched using a connection from the headlight supply as a signal to switch.
The HIDs are (or should be) a straight in line connection with the headlamps, so the OE bulb connectors are pulled off the bulbs and the wires to the HID ballast boxes plugged into the bulb connector.
Unless...and this might be worth checking out  :007:
Some think it's a good move to add a delay relay so the HIDs spark up a short time after the engine is running, it's extra complexity, that I've not found to be necessary on my Sprint  :027:
17 Tiger Sport 1050
08 Sprint 1050ST
01 GSX1400 K2

#6

Offline TheGasGranny

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 25
  • Bike/Model: LEICESTERSHIRE
  • City / Town: Leicester
  • Country: gb
Re: No head lights
Reply #6 on: 19 December, 2021, 05:06:22 PM
Thanks for the reply 🙂

You're right, there's no power to the headlights so the Denali's aren't switching on and the HID's were wired directly to the back of the h7 plug. I'm hoping it's just a melted plug or short, but I'm going to have to get the tank off. I don't have a lot of space or expertise at the moment so it'll have to wait until the new year ☹️ 

#7

Offline seangee

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Tiger God
  • *
  • Posts: 2977
  • Bike/Model: 16 Sport, '21 1290SAS
  • City / Town: Bracknell
  • Country: gb
Re: No head lights
Reply #7 on: 19 December, 2021, 07:33:42 PM
Off the wall idea that's easy to check.
Have you tried lifting the sidestand?
A mod that I have seen is to use the sidestand switch to cut the headlights instead of the delay relay Dusty mentioned, and one that makes sense with HIDs.
Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.

#8

Offline TheGasGranny

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 25
  • Bike/Model: LEICESTERSHIRE
  • City / Town: Leicester
  • Country: gb
Re: No head lights
Reply #8 on: 19 December, 2021, 09:34:41 PM
Ahhhhhh..... Nope. I've not tried that. I'll do it tomorrow 👍👍👍👍

 



reconstruction