Author Topic: TuneECU and OBD2 newb  (Read 2034 times)

Offline SteelSteedSpeed

• Tiger Newbie
  • Topic Author
  • Bike/Model: Triumph Tiger Sport
  • City / Town: Sydney
TuneECU and OBD2 newb
on: 08 March, 2020, 03:41:10 AM
G'day peeps

I'm a complete and utter newb regarding TuneECU and OBD2 connectors and seeking some advice.I own a 66 plate TS, VIN ending in 787160.

I've been ripped off and left rather disappointed with the lack of customer service (and now a distrust) with my local Sydney Triumph dealership, and am now learning to do my own servicing. The basics (fluids and filters etc.) are rather simple for me and I want to delve a little deeper.

My question here is with regard to the OBD2 connector required/recommended for use with TuneECU for Android and my 66 plate TS.
Is anyone currently using the Lonelec OBD2 adapters with TuneECU? If so, which adapter are you using. Cable or Bluetooth?

Apologies for (potentially repeated question). Seems to be an awful lot of miscommunication regarding this topic and finding info on forums is often a headf**k unless one starts a new thread!
TuneECU site and this and other forums seem to state some contradictory info. Specifically regarding the OBD2 adapters/connectors.
Seems that my VIN TS can only be used with TuneECU via Bluetooth. Read somewhere that only certain functionality is obtainable via Bluetooth and only full functionality can be had via a cable. Which is it?
Furthermore, TuneECU site only recommends the Bluetooth connectors from ScanTool (OBDLink MX and LX) yet others appear to be using cheap adapters/connectors from all over the web (Amazon, eBay etc.).

Please help this poor newb!!! My OCD is pinging off the scales and I'm in desperate need to remove the SIA icon from my dash (at the very least).

Thank you.

Offline Timbox

• Tiger Supporter
  • Tiger God
  • Bike/Model: Helga
  • City / Town: Newport
Re: TuneECU and OBD2 newb
Reply #1 on: 08 March, 2020, 05:37:23 AM