Author Topic: 2010 Speed Triple ECU in a 2007 Tiger 1050  (Read 2118 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dac45

  • Tiger Newbie
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 8
  • Bike/Model: Tiger 1050 abs
  • City / Town: Coeur D Alene
2010 Speed Triple ECU in a 2007 Tiger 1050
on: 08 August, 2019, 04:02:53 PM
This is my first post.  I just purchased a 2007 Tiger 1050 from the original owner with 10k miles on it.  It is in mint condition.   I have a friend who has an ECU from a 2010 speed triple on it that has about 10k miles on it also. 
I am wondering if I can swap out the ECU modules with the goals of then opening up the exhaust and air box to get a performance gain?   
Leading up to the purchase, I've been looking through the forum here and those are some of the most well documented mods that I feel comfortable undertaking.
Thank you for the input/assistance. 
David

#1

Offline Sidewinder

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Tiger Master
  • *
  • Posts: 751
  • Bike/Model: 2007 Tiger 1050 Yellow
  • City / Town: Sheffield
  • Country: gb
Re: 2010 Speed Triple ECU in a 2007 Tiger 1050
Reply #1 on: 08 August, 2019, 04:54:28 PM
I see no advantage in swapping ECUs when you can simply change the tune (using eg tunecu) for one more suitable to whatever your proposed setup will be.

https://www.tiger1050.com/index.php/topic,16257.0.html

#2

Offline tiggersteve

  • Tiger God
  • *****
  • Posts: 8583
  • Bike/Model: 1050,1290,now bikeless
  • City / Town: doddington cambs
  • Country: gb
Re: 2010 Speed Triple ECU in a 2007 Tiger 1050
Reply #2 on: 08 August, 2019, 07:15:59 PM
I'm not 100% but I believe this has been brought up before and it's not compatible,
hopefully someone in the know will let us all know

#3

Offline Dac45

  • Tiger Newbie
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 8
  • Bike/Model: Tiger 1050 abs
  • City / Town: Coeur D Alene
Re: 2010 Speed Triple ECU in a 2007 Tiger 1050
Reply #3 on: 08 August, 2019, 07:17:36 PM
The reason for using the Triple ECU is that I can get it for free.  I've never done any sort of remapping and these projects are something I can pretty much all do myself. 
Will the Triple ECU work with a Tiger 1050?
 As far as I can tell, the hardware between the two engines is the same and it is simply a different exhaust system and intake. 

#4

Offline seangee

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Tiger God
  • *
  • Posts: 2875
  • Bike/Model: 16 Sport, '21 1290SAS
  • City / Town: Bracknell
  • Country: gb
Re: 2010 Speed Triple ECU in a 2007 Tiger 1050
Reply #4 on: 08 August, 2019, 07:31:59 PM
*Originally Posted by Dac45 [+]
The reason for using the Triple ECU is that I can get it for free.  I've never done any sort of remapping and these projects are something I can pretty much all do myself. 
Will the Triple ECU work with a Tiger 1050?
 As far as I can tell, the hardware between the two engines is the same and it is simply a different exhaust system and intake.
You don't need to. Its all been done before. All you need to do is find a map that matches the way your bike is set up and load it. And then you know you have a map that has been tested, usually on a dyno, for your exact setup.
Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.

#5

Offline Dac45

  • Tiger Newbie
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 8
  • Bike/Model: Tiger 1050 abs
  • City / Town: Coeur D Alene
Re: 2010 Speed Triple ECU in a 2007 Tiger 1050
Reply #5 on: 08 August, 2019, 07:52:30 PM
I'm pretty new to this map loading thing.  Is it something I can do?  Where do I get a cable and the maps? 

#6

Offline tiggersteve

  • Tiger God
  • *****
  • Posts: 8583
  • Bike/Model: 1050,1290,now bikeless
  • City / Town: doddington cambs
  • Country: gb
Re: 2010 Speed Triple ECU in a 2007 Tiger 1050
Reply #6 on: 08 August, 2019, 08:18:25 PM
check out the stickies or how to sections pretty sure it's in there with lists of tunes using Tune ECU

#7

Offline Dac45

  • Tiger Newbie
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 8
  • Bike/Model: Tiger 1050 abs
  • City / Town: Coeur D Alene
Re: 2010 Speed Triple ECU in a 2007 Tiger 1050
Reply #7 on: 09 August, 2019, 01:32:56 AM
Thank you.

#8

Offline Grouchybastard

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Tiger Master
  • *
  • Posts: 333
  • Bike/Model: 2010 Tiger 1050
  • City / Town: Buckheaven Orygun
  • Country: us
Re: 2010 Speed Triple ECU in a 2007 Tiger 1050
Reply #8 on: 09 August, 2019, 01:39:47 AM
If I can do it, ANYBODY can.  If you can follow simple instructions, you can remap your bike quite easily.    All the info you need is in the stickies, and there is a very easy to follow "how to"  complete with pictures and instructions for the actual download procedure.  And if you run into a snag, there's a bunch of experts waiting to help you out. 

And seriously,,,,,I'm probably the least technical person on here.  You can do it!     :490:

#9

Offline Grouchybastard

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Tiger Master
  • *
  • Posts: 333
  • Bike/Model: 2010 Tiger 1050
  • City / Town: Buckheaven Orygun
  • Country: us
Re: 2010 Speed Triple ECU in a 2007 Tiger 1050
Reply #9 on: 09 August, 2019, 01:45:58 AM
One more thing.....I bought my cable on Amazon.   Just make sure you get the one for TuneECU and Triumph. 

And you might consider joining the TuneECU forum.  Another great resource.    :031:

And  :405: