Tiger Sport 1050 Forum

Please login or register.

News: Warm welcome to our new members !


Author [ES] [MY] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: '07 Speedo unit - 3 buttons not working.  (Read 6494 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Snozzeltoff

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Video Games, Bikes, Bike racing.
  • Bike/Model: 1050->Now KTM 1290 SAS
  • Country: UK
Re: '07 Speedo unit - 3 buttons not working.
« Reply #10 on: 15 November, 2018, 12:00:55 PM »
*Originally Posted by Paullie [+]
I've seen new complete covers for sale on eBay in the past - can't remember if they were 30 or 60. Might be worth having a look for them.

Grabbed the only uk front cover one on ebay. The main screen parts are cracked and marked but as I'm only after the small fuel light lens I don't mind.

Offline indytiger1050

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Supreme Tiger
  • *
  • Posts: 21606
  • Bike/Model: 2007 White Tiger
  • City / Town: Indianapolis
  • Country: USA
Re: '07 Speedo unit - 3 buttons not working.
« Reply #11 on: 16 November, 2018, 10:30:16 PM »
*Originally Posted by TCC [+]
Indy, I believe I saved the part no from one of your old posts - pretty sure this is it:
https://www.digikey.com.au/products/en?keywords=450-1642-ND
   Yes that's It.


*Originally Posted by Snozzeltoff [+]
Got my replacement switches so I'll be doing the job this saturday before the NEC bike show on sunday morning.

Also to add to that this morning, the little plastic cover with the fuel logo painted on it that covers the low fuel light, that's decided to jump off the bike and run away. I noticed this morning as I was about to leave for work, I can see straight through to the LED.
I've taped it with gaffer tape for now, at least its not raining.

Doubt a replacement can be sourced, I'm thinking I'll have to buy a small bit of light smoked plastic, cut and file down to shape, hand paint a fuel logo and glue in.  :157:

*Edit - Put a bid in on a cracked speedo front cover on ebay. I only need the fuel gauge part, that would do.

SO the fuel bit was your leak then.  That was the source one of the repairs I did.
Used some silicone to mend it, really cut down on how bright it was.

SO if you do get a replacement one, be real careful and make sure it's fitted correctly.

I would be finding a ladies shower cap, swimmers cap to cover the cluster while not on the bike and keep rain for sitting on the cluster.

Support the forum.   :031:

Offline ZuluTiger

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Tiger God
  • *
  • Posts: 2153
  • Bike/Model: 1050, KTM 1190 Adv.
  • City / Town: Suwanee
  • Country: USA
Re: '07 Speedo unit - 3 buttons not working.
« Reply #12 on: 16 November, 2018, 11:04:42 PM »
When I did my external button mod, with the wiring routed (anally) through the center of one of the locating pins to be invisible, I was fastidious about positioning the OEM seal. I did not epoxy / glue / mess with anything and yet I'm solid almost 7 years later. I wash my cluster without any particular caution but NEVER put a jet on it. Also, my bike is highly pampered, no heat / cold / freeze so I probably don't have the duty cycle that results in a leak. I cringe at the thought of a cluster dying as it has the entire history of my lightly-used bike. I'm going to spring for a shower cap or two from now on when washing the bike - good call Indy!

Offline Snozzeltoff

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Video Games, Bikes, Bike racing.
  • Bike/Model: 1050->Now KTM 1290 SAS
  • Country: UK
Re: '07 Speedo unit - 3 buttons not working.
« Reply #13 on: 17 November, 2018, 09:46:02 PM »
Did my soldering this afternoon, replaced all 3 switches and soldered them in.
Hooked it all back up and all 3 buttons are now working, the time can be set once again!
Just waiting on replacement cover to get the light lens back on.
Off to NEC show tomorrow, not far for me, hopefully the fix stays good.

Offline ZuluTiger

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Tiger God
  • *
  • Posts: 2153
  • Bike/Model: 1050, KTM 1190 Adv.
  • City / Town: Suwanee
  • Country: USA
Re: '07 Speedo unit - 3 buttons not working.
« Reply #14 on: 17 November, 2018, 10:29:49 PM »
Good job!!

Offline indytiger1050

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Supreme Tiger
  • *
  • Posts: 21606
  • Bike/Model: 2007 White Tiger
  • City / Town: Indianapolis
  • Country: USA
Re: '07 Speedo unit - 3 buttons not working.
« Reply #15 on: 18 November, 2018, 02:51:41 AM »
 :046:
Support the forum.   :031:

Online Yellow Dog

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Tiger God
  • *
  • Posts: 9361
  • City / Town: AUCKLAND
  • Country: New Zealand
Re: '07 Speedo unit - 3 buttons not working.
« Reply #16 on: 18 November, 2018, 04:29:45 AM »
*Originally Posted by Snozzeltoff [+]
Did my soldering this afternoon, replaced all 3 switches and soldered them in.
Hooked it all back up and all 3 buttons are now working, the time can be set once again!
Just waiting on replacement cover to get the light lens back on.
Off to NEC show tomorrow, not far for me, hopefully the fix stays good.

Super impressed. I searched for that switch link, as I vaguely remembered it.

Nice work  :028:
2018 TIGER 1050 SPORT (c8

Offline Snozzeltoff

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Video Games, Bikes, Bike racing.
  • Bike/Model: 1050->Now KTM 1290 SAS
  • Country: UK
Re: '07 Speedo unit - 3 buttons not working.
« Reply #17 on: 18 November, 2018, 07:32:40 AM »
Thanks guys.
Though I won't share a picture of my work, it isn't pretty but clean enough and working.

Online Paullie

  • Tiger God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4220
  • Bike/Model: Tiger Sport (2014)
  • Country: UK/Belgium
Re: '07 Speedo unit - 3 buttons not working.
« Reply #18 on: 18 November, 2018, 05:37:27 PM »
*Originally Posted by Snozzeltoff [+]
Thanks guys.
Though I won't share a picture of my work, it isn't pretty but clean enough and working.
And saved you a packet no doubt! And invisible anyway ......

Offline ZuluTiger

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Tiger God
  • *
  • Posts: 2153
  • Bike/Model: 1050, KTM 1190 Adv.
  • City / Town: Suwanee
  • Country: USA
Re: '07 Speedo unit - 3 buttons not working.
« Reply #19 on: 18 November, 2018, 08:40:51 PM »
Hey Snozz, a thought. If the buttons failed because of water ingress, it was likely through the rubber seals around the buttons. Maybe because of the flexing? This would be a good argument for wiring in the external 3-button mod using a handlebar mounted switch. Since I did this almost as soon as I got my bike, my buttons have seen virtually no use, hence no flexing, hence no failure? Since you are in this mode, why not do the mod? You just have to solder 4 wires to the board in parallel with the existing switches. I have a How To about this, I think. If not, I'll shoot you a full suite of pics if you give me an email address in a PM. It brings the problem to a place that no longer risks the gubbins of the odo. The handlebar switch is cheepazell and is a huge improvement on having to lean over and fiddle with the odo pod...