Tiger Sport 1050 Forum

Please login or register.

News: Warm welcome to our new members !


Author [ES] [MY] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: As it's not in the sticky: How do I know what tune I have in + 2016TS?  (Read 153 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline R3morf3R

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Torque and Sonority enchanted individual
  • Bike/Model: Tiger Sport 2017
  • City / Town: Leuven (Brussels)
  • Country: Belgium
Hi,

is there a button to push or a combination of buttons to push to know the current tune I have on my 2016+ TS or do you need external tools like an OBDII-port or something similar?
I couldn't find it in the manual and it's not to be found in the sticky part of this subforum.

RM

Offline Paullie

  • Tiger God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3277
  • Bike/Model: Tiger Sport (2014)
  • Country: UK/Belgium
Re: As it's not in the sticky: How do I know what tune I have in + 201
« Reply #1 on: 10 August, 2018, 11:01:26 AM »
Hey R3morf3r, come over today/tomorrow and we'll connect up my TuneECU to it and find out!

Offline R3morf3R

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Torque and Sonority enchanted individual
  • Bike/Model: Tiger Sport 2017
  • City / Town: Leuven (Brussels)
  • Country: Belgium
Re: As it's not in the sticky: How do I know what tune I have in + 201
« Reply #2 on: 10 August, 2018, 11:10:02 AM »
Hi Paullie,

I'll see what I can do, but SWMBO had a lot of plans :172: this week and probably has some more this evening... and middle of the week the weather was sh :172: .
Maybe I can pursuade her to drive in your direction  :164:.
We're trying to do as much driving through the city as she wants to pass her road exam for the motorcycle this month.

RM

« Last Edit: 10 August, 2018, 11:53:47 AM by R3morf3R »

Online seangee

  • Tiger God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1562
  • Bike/Model: 2016 Tiger Sport
  • City / Town: Bracknell
  • Country: United Kingdom
Re: As it's not in the sticky: How do I know what tune I have in + 201
« Reply #3 on: 10 August, 2018, 12:21:46 PM »
The ECU is locked so the question is kind of academic.
Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.

Online gosling 1

  • Tiger God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
  • Bike/Model: '08 Orange Tiger
  • City / Town: Connecticut
  • Country: USA
Re: As it's not in the sticky: How do I know what tune I have in + 201
« Reply #4 on: 10 August, 2018, 12:31:01 PM »
*Originally Posted by seangee [+]
The ECU is locked so the question is kind of academic.

If the 2016 TS ECU is locked, don't connect it to tuneecu with a cable. Apparently it can "brick" the ECU. :027:  You can do a wireless connect with the tuneecu Android app and Bluetooth dongle. Another option is to buy the Dealertool software, it will tell you what tune is installed too but in either case you would need to visit the dealer to have tune changed.

https://dealertoolcouk.ipage.com/

« Last Edit: 10 August, 2018, 12:42:12 PM by gosling 1 »
Larger than life and twice as ugly!

Offline R3morf3R

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Torque and Sonority enchanted individual
  • Bike/Model: Tiger Sport 2017
  • City / Town: Leuven (Brussels)
  • Country: Belgium
Re: As it's not in the sticky: How do I know what tune I have in + 201
« Reply #5 on: 10 August, 2018, 12:39:39 PM »
*Originally Posted by seangee [+]
The ECU is locked so the question is kind of academic.

Hi Seangee,

I know that it's locked. So was my car's. That doesn't mean you can't get any diagnostics out of it  :001:.
Went in for my 20K maintenance a few weeks ago and they installed a new tune again and I just want to know what it is and what it did. (I forgot to ask at the dealer).

As written in another post, the 20K maintenance was combined with an MFW air filter and a Scorpion Serket exhaust without baffle and my bike has transformed. It pulls a lot better in low and mid revs and I was wondering if the tune also played a part in it or if it's just the other components.
Anyways, it's even more fun to drive and the sound is better in the mid revs, find it a bit drony in very low rpms. May still switch to baffle in again, but only after a dyno run, so I can compare the before and after.
High revs haven't really changed, even though that subjective feeling disappears when temps outside are lower. Might possibly run a bit lean in high revs in the high summer temps we experienced in the last few weeks. This morning round about 7 AM, it was a lot cooler and the bike seemed to climb to the highest revs a lot easier. Was about a 60 km motorway drive, so not a single attempt I'm basing my opinion on.
« Last Edit: 10 August, 2018, 01:01:11 PM by R3morf3R »

Offline R3morf3R

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Torque and Sonority enchanted individual
  • Bike/Model: Tiger Sport 2017
  • City / Town: Leuven (Brussels)
  • Country: Belgium
Re: As it's not in the sticky: How do I know what tune I have in + 201
« Reply #6 on: 10 August, 2018, 12:45:09 PM »
*Originally Posted by gosling 1 [+]
If the 2016 TS ECU is locked, don't connect it to tuneecu with a cable. Apparently it can "brick" the ECU. :027:  You can do a wireless connect with the tuneecu Android app and Bluetooth dongle. Another option is to buy the Dealertool software, it will tell you what tune is installed too but in either case you would need to visit the dealer to have tune changed.

https://dealertoolcouk.ipage.com/

Thanks ,

I had a cable on order I just cancelled. Have a bluetooth dongle lying around from my car, so will try that one  :062:.
Dealertool is probably overkill for me, as I have two left hands and won't go near trying to fix/mod anything that might kill me if I get it wrong, e.g. a  transport vehicle capable of 120 MPH+ ;-).
« Last Edit: 10 August, 2018, 12:48:55 PM by R3morf3R »

Online gosling 1

  • Tiger God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
  • Bike/Model: '08 Orange Tiger
  • City / Town: Connecticut
  • Country: USA
Re: As it's not in the sticky: How do I know what tune I have in + 201
« Reply #7 on: 10 August, 2018, 01:31:37 PM »
The Dealertool is very similar to tune ecu,  but just diagnostics, can't alter anything on the bike. I use it on my '14 Street Triple that has a locked ECU because it is simple to use, great customer support and I don't have an Android device or Bluetooth dongle. The wireless tuneecu set up
should get you the info you want.
Larger than life and twice as ugly!

Offline R3morf3R

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Torque and Sonority enchanted individual
  • Bike/Model: Tiger Sport 2017
  • City / Town: Leuven (Brussels)
  • Country: Belgium
Re: As it's not in the sticky: How do I know what tune I have in + 201
« Reply #8 on: 10 August, 2018, 01:35:20 PM »
Thanks Gosling1,

some real good advice there  :460:.

RM
« Last Edit: 10 August, 2018, 02:20:38 PM by R3morf3R »

Offline Paullie

  • Tiger God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3277
  • Bike/Model: Tiger Sport (2014)
  • Country: UK/Belgium
Re: As it's not in the sticky: How do I know what tune I have in + 201
« Reply #9 on: 10 August, 2018, 03:34:38 PM »
I use TuneECU on an Android phone with a Bluetooth dongle. Fairly easy to read stuff that way, including TB balance. Even if doesn't have quite the info that the laptop application has.