Author Topic: Datatool alarm on Tiger Sport  (Read 6000 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

#10

Offline Timbox

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Tiger God
  • *
  • Posts: 4455
  • Bike/Model: Helga
  • City / Town: Newport
  • Country: gb
Re: Datatool alarm on Tiger Sport
Reply #10 on: 01 May, 2018, 06:36:33 AM
And of course what all this proves is that generally the only person an alarm system will stop is the owner :003:

#11

Offline samtheman99

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Bike/Model: 2014 tiger sport
  • City / Town: BROUGH
Re: Datatool alarm on Tiger Sport
Reply #11 on: 22 May, 2018, 07:28:46 PM
I find the you are better off hardwiring a connector for a smart battery charger I.E. optimate and if laying the bike up especially with an alarm and leaving it connected over winter a smart charger will maintain and desulphate you battery. From experience I have had 3 x Datatool Triumph alarms fail on me. they usually last 2.5 years on average before leaving you in the S***.( 1 Zaragoza Spain 1x Newkirchen Austria 1x at home.) I now travel with the blanking plug.

#12

Offline Timbox

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Tiger God
  • *
  • Posts: 4455
  • Bike/Model: Helga
  • City / Town: Newport
  • Country: gb
Re: Datatool alarm on Tiger Sport
Reply #12 on: 22 May, 2018, 07:33:08 PM
*Originally Posted by samtheman99 [+]
I find the you are better off hardwiring a connector for a smart battery charger I.E. optimate and if laying the bike up especially with an alarm and leaving it connected over winter a smart charger will maintain and desulphate you battery. From experience I have had 3 x Datatool Triumph alarms fail on me. they usually last 2.5 years on average before leaving you in the S***.( 1 Zaragoza Spain 1x Newkirchen Austria 1x at home.) I now travel with the blanking plug.

Ive had 2 Triumphs with Datatool alarms, first one went south, luckily at home and I ripped it out. 2nd bikes Datatool alarm was removed as soon as I got it. I wouldnt have bought the new TS if it had an alarm as standard thats for sure

#13

Offline TCC

  • Tiger God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1505
  • Bike/Model: Tiger 1050
  • City / Town: St Ives, Sydney
  • Country: au
Re: Datatool alarm on Tiger Sport
Reply #13 on: 22 May, 2018, 11:53:35 PM
I've read about all sorts of issues with Triumph's with Datatool alarms over the years.
Thankfully we don't get them here in Australia but I thought it was an insurance requirement in the UK to have one?

#14

Offline Timbox

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Tiger God
  • *
  • Posts: 4455
  • Bike/Model: Helga
  • City / Town: Newport
  • Country: gb
Re: Datatool alarm on Tiger Sport
Reply #14 on: 23 May, 2018, 06:54:10 AM
*Originally Posted by TCC [+]
I've read about all sorts of issues with Triumph's with Datatool alarms over the years.
Thankfully we don't get them here in Australia but I thought it was an insurance requirement in the UK to have one?

Not a requirement, supposedly gets you a cheaper premium but its peanuts difference in my experience.

#15

Offline Yellow Dog

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Supreme Tiger
  • *
  • Posts: 10436
  • Bike/Model: 2018 Tiger 1050 Sport
  • City / Town: Quainton
  • Country: gb
Re: Datatool alarm on Tiger Sport
Reply #15 on: 23 May, 2018, 08:40:58 AM
Even the dealer said "Avoid Datatool like the Plague"

#16

Offline Barnstormer

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
  • Bike/Model: Triumph tiger sport
  • City / Town: Boothstown
Re: Datatool alarm on Tiger Sport
Reply #16 on: 03 July, 2018, 06:46:36 AM
*Originally Posted by Timbox [+]
Ive had 2 Triumphs with Datatool alarms, first one went south, luckily at home and I ripped it out. 2nd bikes Datatool alarm was removed as soon as I got it. I wouldnt have bought the new TS if it had an alarm as standard thats for sure
Is there an alternative or do people tend to remove & not bother do you think?
Enjoy the ride, but, "relish the safe return home more"

#17

Offline orange99

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Tiger Master
  • *
  • Posts: 283
  • Bike/Model: Tiger Sport 2018
  • City / Town: Edenbridge, Kent
  • Country: gb
Re: Datatool alarm on Tiger Sport
Reply #17 on: 03 July, 2018, 07:56:44 AM
*Originally Posted by Barnstormer [+]
Is there an alternative or do people tend to remove & not bother do you think?

I've just had a Meta Defcom T fitted to my Tiger Sport - this will be the third bike I've used that model on and had no problems with them. One big advantage is that it doesn't auto arm - my first Tiger 1050 had a datatool fitted until it woke the neighbours up at 6:00 when I first had it.




#18

Offline Barnstormer

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
  • Bike/Model: Triumph tiger sport
  • City / Town: Boothstown
Re: Datatool alarm on Tiger Sport
Reply #18 on: 03 July, 2018, 10:15:59 AM
Interesting, I thought that part of the thatcham Cat 1 remit was that it had to self arm, which I'm not a lover of...........
Enjoy the ride, but, "relish the safe return home more"

#19

Offline Barnstormer

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
  • Bike/Model: Triumph tiger sport
  • City / Town: Boothstown
Re: Datatool alarm on Tiger Sport
Reply #19 on: 12 July, 2018, 08:07:04 PM
New alarm now fitted at last, hope it's ok
Enjoy the ride, but, "relish the safe return home more"