Tiger Sport 1050 Forum

Please login or register.

News: Warm welcome to our new members !



Author [ES] [MY] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: 1050 ECU's compatible across Triumph line  (Read 945 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline indytiger1050

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Supreme Tiger
  • *
  • Posts: 21645
  • Bike/Model: 2007 White Tiger
  • City / Town: Indianapolis
  • Country: USA
1050 ECU's compatible across Triumph line
« on: 31 August, 2012, 03:18:16 AM »
I think Hamlin mentioned the ECU's where the same.

A S3 owner has his  ECU confused at the moment,  I could not find the spare S3 ECU I had laying around.
So got my spare Tiger ECU out and downloaded a S3 tune into for him.
It downloaded fine, looked under tests and did have a error saying it did not like the instrument cluster after load.
Makes since the S3 is different than ours.

If we can not get his to work the Tiger ecu will be installed and we will see if it works.

My only concern as of now is the TPS reset.   Since he can not reset it since tuneecu is not connecting at his end.
I loaded my tune into a spare ecu for Hamlin. It did not run right for him when he installed it in his bike.
Tiger ecu with Tiger tune in a Tiger. That should have worked.    :084:

Will update when this drama sorts out.

Cheers.
Support the forum.   :031:

Offline NiK

  • Tiger God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4709
  • City / Town: Marseille
  • Country: FR
Re: 1050 ECU's compatible across Triumph line
« Reply #1 on: 31 August, 2012, 09:14:16 AM »
*Originally Posted by indytiger1050 [+]
My only concern as of now is the TPS reset.   Since he can not reset it since tuneecu is not connecting at his end.
Wouldn't the "self adaption procedure" (you know, idling for 20 mn or so) do the trick?
The world divides in two: those who own a Triumph and those who never tried one...

Offline indytiger1050

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Supreme Tiger
  • *
  • Posts: 21645
  • Bike/Model: 2007 White Tiger
  • City / Town: Indianapolis
  • Country: USA
Re: 1050 ECU's compatible across Triumph line
« Reply #2 on: 01 September, 2012, 12:29:20 PM »
  I don't know. Never had to try it.

My guess is no, the adaption might adjust for minor deviations from base settings. Pretty sure adaptions can not vary far from base. 

If it could we would not need tunes, base tune installed many adaptions later it could deal with any changes like exhaust etc.


Could be wrong, won't be the first time or the last.
 
Support the forum.   :031:

Offline garandman

  • Tiger Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 322
  • Bike/Model: 08 T1050 ABS
  • City / Town: Boston
  • Country: United States
Re: 1050 ECU's compatible across Triumph line
« Reply #3 on: 01 September, 2012, 01:09:58 PM »
*Originally Posted by NiK [+]
Wouldn't the "self adaption procedure" (you know, idling for 20 mn or so) do the trick?
Tell me about this, if you would?













/
2008 Tiger 1050 ABS | 2009 TW200 | 2012 WR250R | 2008 CRF100F | 1975 R90/6

Offline indytiger1050

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Supreme Tiger
  • *
  • Posts: 21645
  • Bike/Model: 2007 White Tiger
  • City / Town: Indianapolis
  • Country: USA
Re: 1050 ECU's compatible across Triumph line
« Reply #4 on: 01 September, 2012, 10:31:24 PM »
*Originally Posted by garandman [+]
*Originally Posted by NiK [+]
Wouldn't the "self adaption procedure" (you know, idling for 20 mn or so) do the trick?
Tell me about this, if you would?


The ECU is capable of modifying the base tune setup to account for Barometric pressure, Altitude, Temperature .
 It does this on the fly, but you can do a forced adaption.
You start the bike, let it warm up. (leaving the throttle alone during this entire procedure)
Once the fan kicks in start the timer, wait 13 minutes and your done.
   If you have a tuneecu cable you can clear adaptions in the ecu, a nice way to start the procedure. (but not required)
Support the forum.   :031:

Offline slowfox

  • Tiger Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 848
  • City / Town: Hanko
  • Country: Finland
Re: 1050 ECU's compatible across Triumph line
« Reply #5 on: 02 September, 2012, 07:33:18 PM »
Indy, I have normally just run the bike at idle (no throttle)  for 12 or 13 min or until the fan comes on, then just switch off ignition. It worked many times like this for me.
"He who dies with the most toys wins" and if you don't win at least you have had a lot of fun trying!

Offline indytiger1050

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Supreme Tiger
  • *
  • Posts: 21645
  • Bike/Model: 2007 White Tiger
  • City / Town: Indianapolis
  • Country: USA
Re: 1050 ECU's compatible across Triumph line
« Reply #6 on: 02 September, 2012, 07:56:52 PM »
*Originally Posted by slowfox [+]
Indy, I have normally just run the bike at idle (no throttle)  for 12 or 13 min or until the fan comes on, then just switch off ignition. It worked many times like this for me.
 
 I am guessing you cleared the adaption, then after your 13 minute run confirmed there was a adaption table.

Never checked myself. It was posted, don't remember by whom the time started after the fan kicked in.
Used to do before fan, then started after THE post. 

Like your way better, means the bike runs less.       
Support the forum.   :031:

Offline slowfox

  • Tiger Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 848
  • City / Town: Hanko
  • Country: Finland
Re: 1050 ECU's compatible across Triumph line
« Reply #7 on: 02 September, 2012, 08:58:37 PM »
I confirmed that it had adapted because the problem went away.

It was after the ECU had got confused one time, all of a sudden the bike started running a little rough and almost stalled on this particular day out. The fuel gauge also didn't show any reading at all. I adapted it as above and all was well again.

I also read that thread you are talking about. I believe that was misleading and a little unnecessary to run the bike at idle for so long. 
"He who dies with the most toys wins" and if you don't win at least you have had a lot of fun trying!

Offline HAMLIN

  • Tiger God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3749
  • City / Town: Bethel, CT
  • Country: USA
Re: 1050 ECU's compatible across Triumph line
« Reply #8 on: 04 September, 2012, 01:45:40 AM »
Indy, Your spare ECU still thinks it's a Tiger ECU, so when you download a S3 tune into it, it's incompatible with the S3 tune and the Tiger Guages. If you now plug it in to the S3 it will likely be happy as both the tune and the guages will talk to each other.
2016 Stelvio, 2015 Norge, 2008 Breva1200 Sport, 2018 Aprilia Caponord, 2008 Griso. Self employed factory trained Motus, Triumph, Aprilia and Moto Guzzi specialist. Owner, Hamlin Cycles, LLC a Moto Guzzi/Aprilia dealer.

Offline indytiger1050

  • Tiger Supporter
  • Supreme Tiger
  • *
  • Posts: 21645
  • Bike/Model: 2007 White Tiger
  • City / Town: Indianapolis
  • Country: USA
Re: 1050 ECU's compatible across Triumph line
« Reply #9 on: 04 September, 2012, 01:55:27 AM »
  Thanks Hamlin. 
Makes sense. 

Just found the spare S3 ecu.     :232:  I never looked at it before now.  The connectors are wrong.  :157: 

Got shafted, the up side it was $30.   
The p/n in the plastic case lists as a Honda ecu. But the label part numbers don't match with the Honda numbers.

Hamlin do you have a listing for the pn on the label or does it cross to a triumph number.

Plan on selling it, would like to list it correctly and not shaft a unsuspecting person. Like I was.   :157:
Support the forum.   :031: