Random Gallery Image

Got motors?

Views: 110
Posted by: bigchris2020
in: bigchris202­0

Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Top Box query  (Read 618 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Marshy113

  • Tiger Newbie
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • Bike/Model: Triumph tiger 1050
  • City / Town: Tenby
  • Country: Wales
Top Box query
« on: 24 January, 2017, 10:20:14 PM »
I currently have the triumph issue panniers on my tiger 1050 (2009 model). Am I right in thinking the only way to fit a top box on with my current setup. is to buy the triumph back plate which fits to the grab handle? I'm looking to get a givi box not the triumph. Apologies for the long winded question, I'm sure it's been answered on here before.
Geoff marsh

Offline stevent

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Gender: Male
  • Bike/Model: 1050 Tiger
  • City / Town: Buckley, Wa.
  • Country: 'Murica..
Re: Top Box query
« Reply #1 on: 26 January, 2017, 12:04:55 AM »
You should be able to buy an adapter for the GIVI top box that attaches to the grab rail. My bike had an SW Motech bracket on when I bought it but I like the look of the Triumph top box so I removed it. If you look online I'm pretty sure it's for adapting a GIVI box..
Carpe` Throttelum-

 "sure I get the best parking spots, but who could love a man with a wooden leg and a face like a chickens backside"......

Offline gavuk

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
  • Gender: Male
  • Bike/Model: 2010 TIGER 1050
  • City / Town: cornwall
  • Country: UK
Re: Top Box query
« Reply #2 on: 26 January, 2017, 11:10:20 AM »
Hi Geoff. I have the same set up as you namely the standard rails and panniers and I have a Givi top box also. To make the Givi fit I had to make two plates from aluminium sheet with off set holes. Took me about 10 mins to do (and I have nil mechanical skills at all)


Offline Marshy113

  • Tiger Newbie
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • Bike/Model: Triumph tiger 1050
  • City / Town: Tenby
  • Country: Wales
Re: Top Box query
« Reply #3 on: 26 January, 2017, 07:53:35 PM »
Thanks gavuk. Did you still need the triumph plate though?
Geoff marsh

Offline gavuk

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
  • Gender: Male
  • Bike/Model: 2010 TIGER 1050
  • City / Town: cornwall
  • Country: UK
Re: Top Box query
« Reply #4 on: 26 January, 2017, 08:40:59 PM »
Hi Geoff, my set up goes the standard triumph grab rail bolts onto the triumph plate and the givi is bolted to this. I have tried to load a photo without success!

Offline Marshy113

  • Tiger Newbie
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 8
  • Gender: Male
  • Bike/Model: Triumph tiger 1050
  • City / Town: Tenby
  • Country: Wales
Re: Top Box query
« Reply #5 on: 27 January, 2017, 07:59:18 AM »
Thanks gavuk. That's what I needed to know. I've had nightmare sorting this out.
Geoff marsh

Offline gavuk

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
  • Gender: Male
  • Bike/Model: 2010 TIGER 1050
  • City / Town: cornwall
  • Country: UK
Re: Top Box query
« Reply #6 on: 27 January, 2017, 10:16:01 AM »
Me again Geoff. There is a code on the bracket A9500090. Don't know if that helps or muddies the waters further...

Offline 2slowTiger

  • Tiger Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 279
  • Gender: Male
  • Bike/Model: Trophy SE
  • City / Town: Dallas TX
  • Country: USA
Re: Top Box query
« Reply #7 on: 29 January, 2017, 07:31:12 PM »
I had a Givi E55 and a E36 , Givi is a good choice you can have  multiple sizes when you don't need the large one you can always run the smaller  one
Never post just how fast your Tiger is that's why mine is 2Slow

Offline woody

  • Tiger Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Gender: Male
  • Bike/Model: Tiger 1050
  • City / Town: Goxhill
  • Country: UK
Re: Top Box query
« Reply #8 on: 25 February, 2017, 05:08:00 PM »
Hey up...I'm looking to do the same as thissen, I was passing a dealership the other day so called in for a looksee...we got on to this very subject...the out come being, yes you can buy just the Triumph rack at a cost of 52 or something plus VAT...then as someone has already done fit your own base plate.....I would have got one there and then....but the lad didn't have one in stock...its held in place with 4 Allen bolts, job done.....

Hope this helps....

Woody....
You can always tell a Yorkshire man....but ya can't tell um much.....

 


suigeneris